A Sea of Green, (the Chicago St. Patrick’s Day Parade)

Growing up in Chicago, I never once participated in the St. Patrick’s Day celebrations. I’m not sure I was even aware that the whole city went into party mode. The holiday barely registered on my radar, and when it did, it was usually in the form of concern about getting pinched for not wearing green to school. It was only after moving 1000 miles away that I resolved to take advantage of everything this city has to offer, particularly in the way of four leaf clovers. After seven years away, I finally found myself back in the city over Saint Patty’s Day. I was determined not to let the opportunity pass me by. I grabbed my Irish roots by the horns, along with a few family members, and rode that Irish rainbow all day long, Chicago style. Here’s a few shots from our adventures at Chicago St. Patrick’s Day Parade:

My favorite part? It had to be the kickoff, the dying of the Chicago River. It turned really green. Like an emerald.

The Jesse White Tumblers. Also amazing.

The spectators were a show of their own. Gotta love a license to dress without practicality.

Cheerio break.

There’s more pictures on my Flickr Account if your interest has been piqued. Hope you had a wonderfully, green-filled, pot o’ gold chasing holiday as well!

Leave a Reply

