Before & Progress: The Living Room

It’s been quiet round here, atleast at the Schmitt House Blog. At the actual Schmitt house- it’s been anything but. Perhaps you remember my longwinded, gripe-filled post about my living room a few weeks back? Well, no more griping, it is official- I have completed the first few steps towards making my living room fabulous!

I am so excited about how it is coming together already! And this is just the beginning!

Before I reveal all, let’s back track… Here’s a few before photos:

Kind of makes you want to pull your hair out, right?

And now, the very same room after a couple coats of paint!

Don’t mind the dust on the mantle- I was a bit over eager to document the loveliness that is my living room, I promise it has been since cleaned up. And ignore the toys all over the floor, just keeping it real. If it’s between 8 in the morning and 8 in the evening, there’s no getting away from them. But other than those little details… isn’t it just a marvelous change? Come on say it.. Oh la la! The color we went with is Sherwin Williams 7534 Outerbanks. I love it, It just infuses light and warmth into the room.

Here’s another view:

We also got new curtains. That was a big decision. That bag in the foreground- it’s filled the three sets of curtains that didn’t make the cut. As for the keepers, I have had my eye on similar curtains from World Market for a while, but at 25 dollars a pop, I was waiting on a super good sale. Instead, I scored these sparkly gems at TJ Maxx for $25 for the pair. At the store, I thought they might be too bright, but no, they are just right. It’s not over though,  I might add some white sheers… What do you think?

One more angle:

(Please excuse the exposed bulbs on the fan. Another project to put on the list.)The red wall is gone. I kind of thought I would miss it, I fought so hard for it, and defended it for so long, but I have to admit (grudgingly), everyone was right. It was too dark. Although I remain fond of the memory, this is so much better. When you open the door and walk into the house, this new color quietly beckons you in, tells you to take off your shoes and gives you a hug. The blood red wall just kind of said “BAM! I’m here!”

There must be a dozen things I still need to do, the biggest of them being to paint all the trim and moldings, the smallest being to put up art. One wall hasn’t even been painted yet. But It’s an inspiring start. Devin, who could care less about anything decor-related(, unless it relates to where his electronics are stored,) actually told me that “he can see the room’s potential and is excited about it!”

What about you? Anyone painting? Redecorating? Anyone else tripping over Let’s Rock Elmo all day long?

6 thoughts on “Before & Progress: The Living Room

  1. I painted our family room, kitchen terra cotta – Like you I loved the bright colour at first and I thought it was so cool. I didn’t do an accent wall I went for the whole thing – painted every wall. Now the walls just scream at me and doesn’t make for a very relaxing place (like a giant pumpkin)- I’m changing the paint to a colour named portobello (just like the mushroom), I can hardly wait to calm this space down.

    • Giant screaming pumpkin…. I like your adjectives! It sounds intriguing and terrifying at the same time. I love that paint is so easy to change up so we can make these types of mistakes. I feel like when I first moved it every wall had to be something shocking and bright… Over the years my home decorating tastes have kind of grown up. I haven’t blogged about my dining room yet. All the wall are that same red… I was going for fluidity…. which is somehow ironic when talking about dark red!

  2. That red was a brave choice and kind of cheeky too but I like your new accent wall too ! I feel that paint is sooo easy to change and agree that our tastes do change as we evolve with our spaces.

  3. Pingback: Holy Paintbrush! I Painted the Dining Room Too! « The Schmitt House

  4. Pingback: Reader Vote: What looks best? | The Schmitt House

Leave a Reply

